College of Education

About the college


The College of Education strives to be the first choice provider of high quality Open and Distance Learning (ODL) education programmes in Africa and a recognised centre of excellence internationally for teaching, research and community engagement that focuses on the initial preparation of teachers and the continuous professional teacher development in:

  • Mathematics, Science, Technology, and Environmental Education
  • Early Childhood Development Education
  • Inclusive Education
  • ABET
  • Language Education
  • and other subjects designated as national priorities


The College of Education is committed to reaching out to all of humanity by providing scholarship, service, learning and continuous professional development opportunities to aspirant and serving educators, managers and policy makers, and other practitioners in education at home and abroad. 

In pursuit of its vision, the college further undertakes to provide its students, staff, and communities with a range of learning opportunities and knowledge through a variety of formal and non-formal Open and Distance Learning programmes that incorporate cutting edge learner support systems and approaches, innovative research initiatives and responsive community development interventions especially in the key focus areas identified in the college vision.

In its attempt to contribute to an education agenda for sustained development, special focus will be given to the recruitment and support of foundation phase educators through targeted marketing and communication initiatives. 

Our role and contribution

Currently the College is responsible for the initial professional education and training of close to 50% of all teachers in South Africa. The College of Education was established as a response mechanism to address the needs of learners, schools, communities, national and provincial education departments for well qualified and excellent teachers.

College Management
Prof ME Makoe Executive Dean NS Radipere Building 6-03
Muckleneuk Campus
012 429 4585 
Prof PL Mabunda Deputy Executive Dean NS Radipere Building
Muckleneuck Campus
012 429 4585 
Prof  RJ Tabane Director: School of Educational Studies NS Radipere Building
Muckleneuck Campus
012 429 2056
Prof J Seroto Director: School of Teacher Education NS Radipere Building
Muckleneuk Campus
012 429 4579
Dr D Hannaway (PQM) Manager: Tuition & Learner Support NS Radipere Building 06-03
Muckleneuk Campus
012 429 4778
Prof AS Mawela (Tuition & Learning matters) Manager: Teaching and Learning, and Student Support NS Radipere Building 06-35
Muckleneuck Campus
012 429 4381
Mr FA Mlambo Head:  Centre for Continuing Education and Training Building 10
Sunnyside Campus
012 481 2813
Prof MM Phoshoko Head: Quality Assurance and Enhancement NS Radipere Building 6-13
Mucklenueck Campus
012 429 6933
Prof VG Gasa Head: Office of Research and Graduate Studies NS Radipere  Building 6-18
Muckleneuk Campus
012 429 4587
Prof MM Phoshoko Head: Quality Assurance and Enhancement NS Radipere Building 6-13
Mucklenueck Campus
012 481 6993 
Prof M Taole Manager: Teaching Practice Building 10
Sunnyside Campus
012 429 3541
Mr M Mokoena Manager: ODeL Acceleration Unit Building 10
Sunnyside Campus
012 484 1032
Prof S Ngubane Head: Institute for Open Distance Learning Ground floor
Robert Sobukwe Building
012 337 6188

Last modified: 2023/11/06