Unisa Press

Why publish with us

Unisa has national, continental and internal presence through distributors and co-publishing agreements. Our books and journals go through a double blind peer reviews process through the Senate Publications Committee. We are also in the process of full digitizing our books from traditional paper publishing to e-publishing.

Unisa Press provide higher royalty payment which is at 18% in comparison to the industry standards at 12-15%. Through collaborations with Unisa’s College for Graduate Studies on a special author mentoring programme, we publish the conversion of Doctorates into books. We have co-publishing contract with Routledge – Taylor and FrancisHeinOnline and Sabinet for local and international reach for our journals


The Unisa owned Hiddingh-Currie Award is given to authors of works published by Unisa Press and distinguished by academic excellence. The fund was established by the University of South Africa (Unisa) with the aim of encouraging excellence in academic research and scholarly publishing.

Several of Unisa Press titles were long-listed for the prestigious Alan Paton awards in 2013. An index in one of our titles won first prize at the ASAIB Index of the Year awards. Two companion volumes in the field of Landscape Architecture won the 2013 ILASA award of excellence, which is given to projects of world class standard and that portray the value that landscape architects contribute to the built environment. Forty of the Unisa Press journals are nationally accredited, and of these, 12 are currently listed on ISI/Thomson Reuters’ indexes. This testifies to our stewardship of timeliness, consistent quality, a varied and respected author base, rigorous peer review, and a distinctive contribution to the literature

Our quality

The Press functions within a classic university press model where acceptance of publications and the quality of peer review processes is overseen by the university's Senate Publications Committee.

Publishing contacts:

Sharon Boshoff
Co-ordinator: Senate Publications Committee 
Tel: 012 429 3016
E-mail: boshosm@unisa.ac.za
Hetta Pieterse
Commissioning Editor 
Tel: 012 429 3182
E-mail: pietehc@unisa.ac.za